Paradise found

SriLanka_01SriLanka_02 SriLanka_03SriLanka_04 SriLanka_05 SriLanka_06 SriLanka_07 SriLanka_08 SriLanka_09 SriLanka_10 SriLanka_11
I have slowly been making my way around Asia with trips here and there, and during the 2013 Christmas break I was lucky enough to see the small gem that is Sri Lanka.

When I first met my boyfriend he raved about the beautiful beaches his parent’s homeland had to offer and constantly told me how I’d lose my mind over the food. Well…he was correct.

The country is a breathtaking environment bursting with greens, blues and yellows and every meal is followed by sweets (that’s the dream, right?). Compared to areas like Bali and Phuket, Sri Lanka feels untouched and unspoiled. Unfortunately, no one is sure how long this will last as it has been mentioned on every “Top countries to visit NOW” list you can imagine. As sad as this seems, it’s also exciting for the small country, especially since when I told people I was going to Sri Lanka more often than not I would be asked where it was and if it was in India.

Travel tips:
Drink all the coconuts
Climb Lion Rock
Visit Buddha’s Tooth Relic in Kandy
Watch elephants take a bath at the Pinnawala elephant orphanage
Eat malupan for breakfast (and lunch…and dinner…)
Watch the sunset at Mount Lavinia

VV

3 thoughts on “Paradise found

  1. Nice Photos…You Must add more places to the Travel tips list !
    *Adams Peak * Whale Watching Mirissa *Hill Country Tea Plucking *Hikkaduwa,Unawatuna Beaches

    1. Thank you!

      Unfortunately I didn’t get time to visit Mirissa or do many of the things I would have liked to! Luckily my boyfriend’s family is Sri Lankan so I will definitely be back and will cross those off my list 🙂

Leave a Reply

